perspective. [ 2002-09-09, 10:01 p.m. ]

my friend l. is here. we had an early dinner and she is already in bed asleep - there were a few tears shed by both of us over the course of the evening but she seems to be doing okay. (her husband died in the world trade center attacks last year) she told me it took her about six months to really cry for her husband, that she still thinks she hears him sometimes, that she has not touched his side of the closet despite pleas from her family to "start moving on". she wanted to be away from nyc for a number of reasons this week, but it seems the primary reason is that she's sick of people telling her how brave she is or conversely, tiptoeing around her. i am trying hard to do neither. she is going to go with me to the buddhist temple on wednesday for a prayer service but other than that, we are trying to just have a mellow week. (i was going to say "fun" but that doesn't really fit the picture.)

i posted something earlier today borne of my irritation over someone i no longer want contact with coming here and reading my diary. but you know what? if he's the worst problem in my life, i should count my blessings.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design