Oh Dallas, My Dallas. [ 2003-03-25, 4:48 p.m. ]

Spent most of the day wandering around the Fair Park taking pictures. Highlights:

*WPA murals in the State Hall

*Bizarre, dusty "Museum of Miniatures" in the basement of the Hall of State

*The Hall of State itself - beautiful Art Deco details inside...sigh.

*The giant Ferris wheel with "Texas" spelled out along its spokes

*The Lagoon with its oozy-lavalike pathway and sunning turtles

*The music theatre made of cinderblock with signage left from the 1930's.

The most impressive thing is that the park is still there at all (and intact)-- the esplanade has all the original buildings with huge murals, mosaics and sculptures -- really beautiful.

The park was almost totally empty except for some bike cops and bored park workers. I had sweet potato pie for lunch (I love vacation eating). There was a tv on in the restaurant and seeing the faces of the two helicopter pilots being held in Iraq made me cry. Why the hell are we doing this???

Tomorrow I'll go to a few old cemeteries, the Crow museum and a few other things and on Thursday my friend and I are meeting in Ft. Worth to see the new art museum there.

I keep thinking that at the end of this week I should be heading south instead of north. Blah.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design