I'm pining, but not for the fjords... [ 2003-03-26, 5:44 p.m. ]

~Zapps potato chips are the food of the devil.

~In most Dallas suburbs, you can park your car facing either direction on either side of the street. Craaaazy.

~No one here uses turn signals except for the people who leave them on continuously and never actually turn.

~~~

Today's journey took me downtown to the Conspiracy Museum which is oddly compelling if no other reason than the guy who runs it really, really believes in the big conspiracy. You also have to love an exhibit plaque that tries to tie up this very, er, complex theory and then ends with "...and that spells conspiracy with a capital C, folks!"

Saw a good exhibit of emerging Texas artists at the Dallas Museum of Art.

Went to see the Crow Collection of Asian Art -- really phenomenal. I had to get over the fact that a lot of the collection is the result of graverobbing or worse, but they do have some amazing pieces. Right now there's an exhibit of photos of the Kabul Buddhas and surrounding valley taken in 1974. They include details of the interior decoration and monks' cells -- really beautiful. Horrible to think that they were intentionally destroyed.

~~~ And thank-you to my priceless friend, who emailed me with some good advice. I would elaborate but it just involves a lot of neurotic handwringing on my part...Now if you'll excuse me, I am going to make dinner for my fabulous hosts, who have treated me like gold this week.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design