Beautiful spring evening... [ 2003-05-12, 7:31 p.m. ]

Got off work early and decided to drive home through the city instead of via the expressway. I stopped at my favorite produce market - the only truly international one I know of in the city - I love shopping there...today I heard at least four different languages spoken as I cruised the aisles. And because I am a huge geek, I can spend hours admiring and poring over exotic packages and labels...I bought coffee from Kosovo, bean paste from China, and tons of fresh fruit and veggies - including the pomegranate I ate in the car on the way home, having sliced it open with my keys (keys are hygienic, aren't they?). I was a pomegranate-y mess when I got home, but it was delicious. I also bought a 12-lb. bag of jasmine rice that I will never use up, but the bag it came in is a work of art...

~~~

Earlier today I was in an oil-change center waiting room with an elderly couple...the man was completely silent...eventually the woman told me he'd had a stroke five years ago that took away his ability to speak. As the woman chattered away, I found myself drawn to the man's eyes...the intensity of his stare made it hard to turn away.

~~~

Are my thoughts tortured? Does the act of wondering if they are tortured confirm their tortured-osity? Should I have told K. to shut the fuck up and get out of my house? Nah...he's right and it was nice to spend some time with him...even though we both knew my head was someplace far, far away...

~~~

I am cooking myself a nice dinner tonight and I believe it's ready now, so please excuse me...

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design