Encounter. [ 2003-05-14, 6:48 p.m. ]

Yesterday, I was driving past a church on a suburban side street when a woman came running out of the church parking lot, frantically waving her arms...I stopped and asked her if she needed help and she said "Yes, please, please come" and ran back toward the parking lot. I turned into the lot and expecting some kind of medical crisis, was trying to mentally walk myself through CPR...

The problem? Her car needed a jump. She was just this side of hysteria - "Oh, I've been sitting in my car praying and praying and then I knew I must get out of the car and God would send someone to help me..." I tried to calm her down...then I gave her a jump and sat with her for a minute because she was so upset. She kept hugging me and touching my hair and telling me "God will reward you for this". I asked her where she was going and offered to follow her but she was heading back into the city and I was on my way to work...

I can't even make fun of her over-the-top emotional state because I could see the real fear on her face and I know what that kind of response to small problems means...

I hope she made it home okay.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design