Consumerism overload. [ 2003-05-18, 3:35 p.m. ]

So KT and I pull into the Costco parking lot...but what ho! An Ulta store just across the way...and it's having a grand opening sale!! Now, I do not wear an inordinate amount of makeup...in fact, by the time I use something up and go back to buy more, I frequently find that it is no longer made. Anyhoo...in we went and my god...the hoochie seductiveness of the layout and all the packaging and smells and before I knew it I was lovingly caressing a $60.00 makeup kit. Thankfully, I snapped out of it and we got the hell out of there...

~~~

...and went to COSTCO! Big-ass jars of pickles! Bottles of shampoo so large and heavy you would need help lifting them over your head in the shower! Polyester clothes! Giant pizzas! I managed to avoid buying a 6-pack of Pringles, but I did buy more post-it notes than I will ever use (~oh, the pretty colors!~) and almost bought a 50-pack of Sharpies...my love of office supplies knows no boundaries. But the truly wonderful thing was the people watching --- where else are you going to see a line of people 14-deep waiting for a small paper-cup sample of canned baked beans?

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design