That's life in the big city... [ 2003-06-11, 4:22 p.m. ]

I just went to take my garbage out and as I came through the gate to the alley I realized there were police cars and an ambulance there...what were they doing, you ask? Why, taking pictures of the body someone had found behind my building an hour ago, that's what.

My first, selfish thought? Thank god I hadn't taken my garbage out earlier.

My second selfish thought came after one of the detectives came over to me and told me it was a homeless guy and they thought he had overdosed: I'm glad it was a junkie o.d. and not someone who had been murdered.

What am I thinking now? I am a horrible person. Whoever it was, he was someone's child...maybe a father...I'm sure someone somewhere loved him and no matter what circumstances led him to life on the streets, a loss is a loss.

Shame on me.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design