Monday, Monday. [ 2003-06-30, 7:54 p.m. ]

Younger charge received a pitchback for his bday. We were in the backyard today and he was furiously hurling a plastic-covered nerf ball into the net. Instead of catching the ball when it flew back at him, he was just standing still, letting it hit him. I finally said, "Hey J, put your hands out and you can catch it!" His reply: "Wo-wah, I'm bouncing it off my penis!" Ahem.

~~~

I've been offered a fairly lucrative freelance assignment by a woman I met at the charge's gymnastics class. She runs a nonprofit consulting co. and they need extra writing help for the next six months or so. Last week I brought her some writing samples and today she offered me the job...but I need to think this over. I've fallen into a good groove with this magazine stuff and that's where I'd really like to establish myself for the next few years. I already have enough steady freelance grantwriting work to fill in the gaps...I'm afraid this new thing will be too much like a job. (the horror!) We'll see.

~~~

I am also still in a quandry as to what I will be doing after this summer. I thought I had decided to stay with the charges one more year but...I dunno. Something is telling me it's time for a change.

~~~

Is this my midlife crisis? If so, I feel gypped. There's no romance or hot sex involved and that just ain't right...No it is not.

~~~

Tomorrow is mystery brother's birthday (50th, I believe) and I think we are going to go out for drinks. Should be mysterious. And interesting.

~~~

The family reunion is looming and I am anticipating it with a mixture of excitement and dread. This will probably be the last time I see some of these folks but it also means spending a week with my extended family in a cabin in the mountains of Tennessee and oh God help me...

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design