Power Outage. [ 2003-07-05, 11:11 a.m. ]

Woke up to the sound of lightning hitting something really close by, followed by the electrical "whomp" sound of the power going off on the whole block. Wild storms all morning.

~~~

As soon as the rain stopped, we opened all the windows to a very nice after-rain breeze. It smelled like camping and there were a lot of excited birds in the tree outside my living room window. It was nice to sit on the couch and listen.

~~~

The lack of power forced me to make coffee in my stovetop percolator -- and I am happy to say I avoided the overbrewed cowboy coffee I usually make with that thing.

~~~

I also pulled out my Panasonic Ball transistor radio (prized possession from my youth and still working, thank you Japan) and discovered that AM radio sucks ass. I flipped through numerous sports stations, news stations that repeat the same broadcast every 8 minutes, stations consisting of paid programming aimed at sick old people (stop cancer before it starts! call now!) and Hispanic music stations. And then...I found it. WNWI-AM 1080 -"Chicago's Ethnic Music Station". For the hour I listened, they were doing a show featuring Slavic music interspersed with choral renditions of U.S. patriotic songs. It was like tuning in some demented Cold War era propaganda. Very entertaining.

~~~

But alas, all good things must come to an end and soon enough the electricity came back on and I, heat wimp that I am, slammed the windows shut and cranked the a/c and returned to summer hibernation mode.

~~~

And now I must go because mystery bro. is on his way over and we are going to trek out to the 'burbs for a barbeque chez sister.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design