Dragging my heels... [ 2003-07-12, 10:02 a.m. ]

I have to finish up a few little things and get going out to my sister's house this afternoon/evening. We are going to leave from her house veeery early Sunday for the reunion. I'm ready but not willing to give up my last few moments of solitude just yet.

~~~

Lest I come off like a complete ass, I AM looking forward to the reunion - some of it, anyway. We're staying in some really cool WPA-era cabins and I love being out in the mountains. My mom's family are decent people, fairly low-key for the most part...My great-grandparents are buried in the "Irish" cemetery (yes, they were segregated) near there, so I want to get over there and get some pics...and of course, a day trip to you-can't-believe-how-tacky-it-is-til-you-see-it Gatlinburg is in order...

~~~

I also have a secret agenda with my aunt B., who is my mom's only sister and who was estranged from the family for a long time. In the early 1940's, she ran off with the town cad (named Tom Jones, which cracks me up), had two kids out of wedlock, dumped the kids on my grandparents, who were barely feeding their OWN kids, and disappeared for about 20 years. I would love to hear her side of the story and I'm hoping I'll have an opportunity to talk to her about it.

~~~

A phone call at 11:00 last night inviting me out...and out I went for a nice walk on the lake and some intense (but good) conversation.

~~~

I don't know which lucky star shone on me this week, but one of them did and I am so grateful.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design