Oh deli boy, my deli boy. [ 2003-07-23, 7:48 p.m. ]

At least once a week, I do a grocery run for the charges' mom. The list always includes American Cheese because that is just about all younger charge will eat these days. There's a young-ish guy who works the deli counter where I do this shopping and he usually makes fairly amusing comments when I'm there, and I laugh and go on my way. Today I had this exchange with him:

Deli Guy: Oh no, not more cheese already.

Me: (Laughing) Yes. A pound please.

DG: No.

Me: Fork it over, sucker.

DG: You can talk! Usually you just laugh.

Me: Hahaha.

DG: Do you have eyes, too?

I lift my sunglasses and stare at him for a minute.

DG: Very lovely.

Me: Thank you.

DG: Come here often?

Me: I come here for the music (some crappy Muzak was playing). And the cheese, of course.

DG: Ah yes, we'll always have the cheese, won't we?

Me: Always.

At which point he handed me my little packet of cheese and off I went.

Yes, I am desperate enough that a meaningless flirt with the deli boy at Treasure Island made my day.

Back later with more tales of Tennessee.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design