Ten! More! Things! The school years... [ 2003-07-27, 1:02 p.m. ]

1. My legs are so covered by mosquito bites it looks like I have chicken pox. So sexxxxxy.

2. I had chicken pox my third week of kindergarten and was absolutely heartbroken that I had to stay home for a week.

3. When I was in fourth grade, my suburban L.A. elementary school was selected for an experimental integration program. Many of the teachers, including my beloved Miss H., threatened to quit rather than teach the integrated kids. I remember seeing Miss H. protesting with other teachers and parents in front of the school and feeling completely confused and betrayed. My parents were so appalled by Miss H.'s behavior that they had me transferred into a different classroom. My mom was one of three parents who volunteered to carpool kids out of Watts and she made damn sure we knew who was on the right and wrong side of that issue.

4. Greg Wood gave me my first kiss on the playground of Collins Street School. But I secretly liked his shy friend Joel.

5. Did I have any dates in high school? No, I did not. I had a lot of guy friends but when I was asked out I always said no. I was afraid.

6. Unlike now, when I occasionally say yes but am still afraid.

7. Hahahahaha.

8. My elementary school had a yearly fair and I always won goldfish in the ping-pong ball toss, then overfed them, then gave them a sad and heartfelt burial at sea by flushing them into the L.A. sewer system.

9. The first person who encouraged my writing was Ms. Carolyn Burke at DG High School and if I knew where she was today I would write and thank her.

10. College is a blur of punk rock and booze. But I did manage to graduate and become the productive citizen you see before you. *cough*

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design