Spent Friday... [ 2003-08-08, 10:19 p.m. ]

wandering various museums with my sister and one of her kids...the sis and I had fun chatting and the kid had fun doing all the kid things available to him...

~~~

This particular kid was born three months early and almost didn't make it...he spent his first month in an incubator and then a few more months in the hospital fighting various infections and trying to get strong enough to leave...Seeing him for the first time, so teeny, was so terrifying...I remember trying not to cry because I didn't want to upset my sister...but he was sooo small, hooked up to huge, cold machines...and I lost it.

~~~

My sister is an incredibly strong woman and I swear she willed that kid to live. Not that he didn't have lots of other folks pulling for him...but she threw all she had into him for as long as it needed to be that way and I so admire her for that...

~~~

But, I digress.

~~~

There was much viewing of monster trucks and sharks today, with a walk on the lake thrown in for good measure...then home to play with all the goodies purchased...then dinner and then the kid fell asleep and my sis and I had a nice long talk...

~~~

And then of course there's that other gigantic thing going on...which is so wonderful...

~~~

I will sleep well tonight.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design