Pseudo-Mommy [ 2003-09-21, 9:13 p.m. ]

Older charge surprised me with a proliferation of tears just as his parents left this morning; he was sobbing...I talked to him a little bit, then left him alone, then he came and sat on my lap for a little while. I had brought a craft project he really wanted to do, so I got that out and after that things were fine...Younger charge didn't display any anxiety until bedtime tonight but he fell asleep pretty quickly.

~~~

I learned today that there are some really scary suburban t-ball parents. T-ball is supposed to be non-competitive; 5- and 6-year-olds play games but no one wins or loses - the focus is supposed to be on teaching the kids various skills. I wish someone had told that to the mom who was stalking back and forth behind home plate, screaming at her kid at full volume "Hit it, Stevie, for crying out loud just hit the thing!"...I wanted to slap her but luckily one of the coaches came over and told her to tone it down. Better yet, younger charge - who was sitting on my lap - piped up "Lo-wah, that is a mean, mean mom!" loud enough for her to hear...hee hee.

~~~

And now, I am alone with the evil television...I scanned the menu and found that there is a Three Stooges marathon on Channel 26 and I think that might be just the thing tonight. I also want to try to catch Saturday Night Live because I've only seen Fred on it twice...

~~~

Off I go to wide-screen tv and an insanely huge waterbed...

~~~

Woo. Hoo.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design