It's all too beautiful... [ 2003-10-09, 1:37 p.m. ]

Older charge had a slight fever again last night, so he had to stay home from school...but because he wasn't sick enough to stay in bed we headed up to the Botanic Garden. He wanted to draw, so we took sketchbooks and colored pencils with us and wandered around drawing plants and sculptures and such.

The whole time we were there I was hit with wave after wave of affection for this kid - he is so bright and so much fun to hang out with. We really had a good time and I couldn't help but think about the fact that our days together are coming to an end. It is going to be so hard to tell him I'm leaving. I'm on the verge of tears just thinking about it.

~~~

I am also feeling a tad melancholy over my temporary separation from the wonderful someone. We talk every night -- lengthy, good conversations. While our connection is intense even over the distance, some days there is nothing I would like better than to lay my head on his shoulder and drift off... And being prone to what MISS MIMI refers to as "Tragedy Brain" doesn't help matters...

~~~

This morning at the grocery store there was a small, frail-looking old man in line ahead of me. I noticed him because he was wearing a suit and tie and a nice old felt fedora - very dapper. Then I glanced down at the conveyor and saw that he was buying a packet of soup noodles and a can of Red Bull. In a bitchier (okay, "more-typical-for-me") mood I probably would have found this amusing, but for some reason it just struck me as sad or poignant in some way.

~~~

Stupid hormones.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design