Long week. [ 2003-10-15, 6:28 a.m. ]

It feels like this week should already be over...

~~~

Mystery bro. and I drove out to the suburbs for a family dinner last night -- some cousins were in town and my mom wanted us all together. Bro. and I were the first ones to the restaurant and headed right to the bar, where we had the latest in a series of good conversations -- he and I were very close a few years ago but over the last years of his marriage he really clammed up and was hard to talk to...now that he's out of that situation he seems to be returning to his old self.

~~~

At dinner, my older cousin positioned herself right next to me and without any preliminary chit-chat dove right in to asking about the wonderful someone. Clearly, my mom has been freaking out over this whole thing and had been bending her ear about it. This cousin had an experience very similar to mine when she met her husband (instant connection). While we talked she kept telling me how great she thinks it is and that she has been working on my mom about it -- something I wouldn't have expected this particular cousin to say or do. She is quite a bit older than me and somewhat reserved.

~~~

The charges' mother and I are somewhat in disagreement over when to tell them I'm leaving and that's causing me some distress. Older charge is an anxious child and she thinks telling him now will just mean he's miserable and worried about it 'til it happens. She wants to wait until a month before I'm leaving. Initially, I agreed with this, but after some thought it seems to make sense to tell them earlier because I think that would give him time to process it while I'm still going to be around for a while...and he could talk to me about it. I dunno. The ultimate decision is going to have to be with the parents but as time rolls by, I feel increasingly dishonest when I'm with the kids. I think they should know. I don't like the idea of springing it on them and then four fast weeks later, I'm gone.

~~~

So.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design