Shaken, not stirred. [ 2003-11-01, 7:50 a.m. ]

Among the little trips in the wayback machine last night...I found a small stack of cards and notes and letters from T. -- all the "love you forever" stuff and silly pics -- and at the very bottom...the three-page letter he sent me trying to justify why he cheated on me. This betrayal happened just after I found out I had cancer and he tried to justify it by telling me how scared he was...In a nutshell: I'm so afraid you're going to die, I had to go fuck my ex-girlfriend. Poor guy.

~~~

And yet I knew even then that the timing could not have been more perfect. It allowed me to jettison his sorry ass and not waste getting-well energy on a dying, never-should-have-started-it-in-the-first-place relationship. T. and I are good friends now and there are aspects of this story, as harsh as it may seem, that are pretty damned funny to me.

~~~

That was a relationship in which I knew that all the pretty words were empty and that he was never going to feel the way I did, but I blundered ahead anyway...and I guess remembering the person I was at that time in my life shook me up a bit.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design