Picture, if you will... [ 2003-11-21, 7:15 a.m. ]

The Lass sitting at her little desk, hair in rollers, coffee at her lips, trying to wake up.

~~~

Scary, eh?

~~~

Working at the daycare center today, which involves a long drive through the western suburbs. There is one nice stretch along the Fox River (where I have in fact seen foxes trotting alongside the road a few times). The drive takes me past an abandoned mill at one point - I have always wanted to get inside it to take pictures and I may just do that one of these days...

~~~

I have a long history of breaking and entering abandoned buildings...the eeriest one was a bungalow in Tucson that had apparently just been left in about 1974 - all the furniture was still in it, appliances, clothes in closets, beds made, letters on the kitchen counter...as if the people living there had just locked it up one day and never come back. I lived near this place and asked around the neighborhood but no-one knew the story - I assume someone must have died and the house got caught up in probate or some such. I went into it twice - once by myself and a second time with my friend Betsy because I was too afraid to go upstairs by myself the first time. Very strange experience.

~~~

Heavy day yesterday for S.' family and it frustrates the hell out of me that I am not there with him...

~~~

But I will be, soon.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design