Chapter 247, in which the Lass seriously loses her shit. [ 2003-12-05, 8:37 a.m. ]

Last night S. mentioned that a friend of his is having a party Saturday and she told him we "HAVE to" stop by so she can meet me. This simple statement has brought up a well of anxiety so deep that my stomach hurts. I am excruciatingly shy. I do not like being the focus of attention. I don't like feeling sized up. Being the new girl in town is going to test every ounce of social skill I have (and that isn't much, believe me).

My behavior in new social scenes is usually one of the following: The first possibility is that I completely clam up -- sometimes I manage a mumble or an ill-timed chuckle -- perhaps an obscure comment that no one gets. (This in turn usually leads to people telling me that when they first met me they thought I was snotty or sarcastic or "hard to know"). If I don't clam up...I talk. Incessantly. About anything...in hopes that no one notices that I have nothing to say.

Blah.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design