Austin and parts beyond, part two. [ 2003-12-09, 10:57 a.m. ]

I would have typed this all into one entry but I was in great need of coffee...

~~~

When I arrived Saturday, S. and I came right to the house and walked around the entire property. We saw an owl in the trees at the back of the lot and the moon and stars overhead were so beautiful...I was overwhelmed. We had dinner and headed out to the dreaded party...which turned out to be just fine. It had more or less wound down by the time we arrived, everyone was shitfaced, and I felt off the hook as far as attempting to make any kind of good impression...

~~~

Sunday we drove to S.' hometown to visit his family. We drove through a lot of cattle ranches and small towns...the landscape reminded me a lot of the drive through Calabasas years ago before it became a posh suburb...oil wells and long, dry grass...cows and goats...

~~~

S.'s family are as genuine and warm as he is. I was a little bit intimidated about meeting his mother but we had an immediate connection and had several good private conversations over the course of the day. His grandparents remind me a lot of some of my aunts and uncles on my mom's side and the whole experience felt as comfortable as being with people I had known my whole life.

~~~

S.'s hometown is a beautiful old thing full of Victorian architecture and with a main drag that still has many of its original buildings. The highlight of the town was a visit to the city park which wa designed by S.'s great-grandfather in the 1940's. It is gorgeous and I think it's such a cool legacy for S. and his family...

~~~

Drove back to Austin yesterday - we stopped to get gas at a station where the lcd display on the pump was mysteriously flashing the word "steak!" at us ... Also spotted a sign in S.' s hometown that read "Texas National Gaurd". I hope they can shoot better than they can spell...

~~~

Took a walk around the neighborhood this morning and discovered a Montessori school right around the corner - might be a good place to seek employment...

~~~

I am enjoying being in the house today, hanging out and tidying up a few little things. I cannot wait to get down here for good. We can hear trains and crickets at night here......a fact that makes me incredibly happy.

~~~

And tonight, it's back to my beloved Chicago, which no longer feels like home.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design