Back. [ 2003-12-14, 4:13 p.m. ]

Left Austin at 6:00 this morning. Was able to fly first class, which meant hot towels and breakfast and enough room to stretch out. My seatmate was chatty and in the course of that conversation I found out he grew up in the small town where S. and I met...I gave him the short version of S. and my meeting there and he said "That's just random enough to be fate". Agreed.

~~~

Managed not to get too hysterical at the airport. Knowing that it was the last wrenching goodbye before I move helped. Walking into my apartment felt...weird. Like a dream in which you find yourself in a house you used to live in and it's the same but it's not. I opened mail and puttered around and then S. called and we chatted a while. I HATE the phone. Hate it.

~~~

Yesterday and last night were wonderful. I worked with S. part of the day which was really fun but also tortuous because what we both really wanted to be doing yesterday was, er, napping *cough*. I'm sure he's had more efficient help in the kitchen but I managed to do a few little things and stay out of his way. His work situation is populated with some very interesting and dramatic personalities...S. is dead-on at sussing people and it was fun to watch him stop people cold with his calm demeanor.

~~~

We went back to the house, then got up and went out for a late dinner. We ate at a really wonderful Middle Eastern place. Had some incredible food and a bottle of Beaujolais and then headed over to Zilker Park to see the huge Christmas tree made of lights. S. had been describing this thing to me and I must confess that I wondered what the big deal was...but it was a very big deal. The tree is actually one of the park's moonlight towers, strung into a spiraled, tree-shaped canopy of almost 4,000 lights. The tradition is to walk into the center of the tree...and spin. And people were spinning like mad. There were kids being spun by their parents, groups of students, couples, all staring up into the tip of this tree and spinning and laughing like crazy. The energy was amazing. People would enter the canopy slowly and just stare up...and then start spinning in circles. It was as if the mother ship had landed and everyone was caught in a beam...The story of the moonlight towers is also interesting and you can read about them here.

~~~

Six more weeks and I will be in Austin for good.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design