It's all fun and games until somebody loses an eye... [ 2003-12-18, 2:47 p.m. ]

I am feeling enormously stressed and edgy today. Too much coffee? Too much Flavacol? I know not.

~~~

My bank visit this morning probably didn't help. The bank I use will not let you open an account at the customer service window. You have to sit down with a banker, who then tries to sell you all kinds of crap you don't want. I was very brusque (bordering on rude) with the banker, especially after he started asking me things like how much money I make (not relevant info. when opening a savings account). Blah.

~~~

And now, a heartwarming Target holiday story:

I was in a Target checkout line yesterday which was staffed by a sweet elderly man. As he was scanning my order, his boss (let's call her "Bitchy Bitch")walked up to him and said in a snippy tone, "You have to sell some Target cards today -- you didn't have any last week", then walked off. The clerk stood there for a minute, flustered and embarassed, and then continued checking me out. I wanted to say something but didn't...and I'm thinking, this guy is probably retired and is working for a little extra cash - whatever - but he certainly isn't there for a career and shouldn't be treated that way regardless -- especially in front of customers.

As he got to the end of my order, he asked me, "Would you like to open a Target charge today and save 10%?" and I said without even thinking, "You mean so you can get that bitch off your back?". Sometimes thoughts come out of my mouth before I have a chance to put a nice socially acceptable gloss on them....I was immediately mortified at what I'd said --I thought I might have offended him. But he stood there for a minute and then started laughing. He said, "I don't think I should be pushy about those cards, especially with people who are already spending hundreds of dollars here at the store" and I told him I agreed. When I got home, I was looking over my receipt and realized he didn't scan a $22 item in my order. He was so flustered that it's possible he just forgot but I like to think that he stuck it to the man. Or to the bitch, as it were.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design