City. [ 2004-01-08, 5:32 a.m. ]

I remember climbing up to the roof of a building I used to live in, surrounded by highrises, and practically feeling the pulse of the city - looking around at all the buildings and thinking about the lives being led therein made me feel like I was a part of some shared urban energy. The other night I was looking at the skyline through my living room window and thinking "That's pretty" but not feeling the vibe I once felt. For the past few years I've been thinking about leaving the city and now that I am actually doing it, I find myself less and less attached to the things that once excited me about living here...

~~~

I am looking forward to gazing at the moon not through my window but from my backyard. I am looking forward to hearing crickets and trains at night. I am looking forward to walking down our little street and seeing goats and llamas in a corral. I am looking forward to planting flowers and vegetables...

~~~

I still love Chicago and I still get small thrills from certain experiences and areas here but these days, Chicago is just a place I'm staying until I can get to where I belong.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design