Saturday doin's. [ 2004-01-25, 1:29 p.m. ]

The reading of the will (which was accompanied by some good wine and a pot of cheese fondue) went well. We rotten kids managed to offset my mom's nervousness by making the requisite sick jokes. I think my mom was born afraid of dying...something that has intensified as she has aged and seen several of her siblings pass away...

~~~

After that, my sister's hubby brought the kids over and then the real fun began. My mom and siblings and the nieces and nephews had planned a little show for me, complete with musical numbers and wacky gifts. My mom and the kids did a song to the tune of "She'll Be Comin' Round the Mountain" -- words by my mom, sung wonderfully off-key by the kids. Then my oldest nephew played "Back in Black" on his electric guitar while holding the guitar behind his back, Hendrix-style. The second oldest read a poem to me and the youngest three presented me with all kinds of swell gifts like a Barbie cowgirl hat and a toy pony. (Yes, Ellen, I have my OWN pony now!! Maybe our ponies can be friends!!!)

~~~

And then my mom pulled out the usual insane spread of hors d'oeurves and a huge dinner. She made a bunch of my favorite foods, including my favorite kind of jello (lime with cottage cheese and pineapple) which as odd as this sounds, really touched me. I don't think she's made that since we were all kids.

~~~

Then my sister gave me a card that made me cry.

~~~

Over the course of the afternoon and evening we managed to kill five bottles of wine...then some of us went over to my sister's house and stayed up talking for a bit. However, at that point the booze and food coma had begun and I could only hang in til about 11:30.

~~~

Now if you'll excuse me, I have to go make a day-by-day list of everything I need to get done before Friday. Wish me luck.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design