I Heart Bureaucracy. [ 2004-01-26, 7:37 p.m. ]

I had to call the IRS today.

Why, you ask? Well, because I make quarterly payments and I wanted to let them know my new address. I thought it might be helpful to them if they want to continue to send payment notices to me. After spending at least a full two minutes getting to an agent and confirming my identity, here's how the conversation went:

Friendly IRS Agent: Okay, Ms. S., what can I do for you today?

Me: I'm on a quarterly payment plan and I'm moving and wanted to update my address with you.

FIA: (Pauses). Wellll...I can't change your address for you over the phone. We can't do that.

Me: Well then how should I go about this?

FIA: Well, you can wait for the next payment coupon to catch up with you and just update it on that.

Me: What if that payment coupon doesn't reach me at my new address?

FIA: Are you having your mail forwarded?

Me: Yes, but there's going to be an interim period and I'm afraid it might not reach me.

FIA: Well, if you needed help with something else today, I could change your address while I'm helping you.

Me: Uh....okay. What else might I need help with?

FIA: You could ask me the total on your next estimated payment.

Me: Say, could you tell me the total on my next estimated payment? And by the way, I'm moving soon, could you change my address for me too?

FIA: (Without a hint of irony...) Sure, Ms. S., I can help you with that today...

~~~

Jesus Fucking Christo.

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design