The Move, Part Two. [ 2004-02-07, 8:35 a.m. ]

We arrived in Austin around dinnertime Sunday. S. came out to greet us and was tactfully silent about the size of the truck...he was in the midst of preparing a wonderful dinner for all of us, which was a blessing after my diet of peanuts, fruit, gatorade and soda in the car all day. We did a little tour of the property, ate, and collapsed.

~~~

Monday we decided to ignore the big yellow monster parked in the driveway and went to Zilker Park, where my sis took off on a long run and S., bro and nephew E. braved the not-so-warm air temps to take a swim in Barton Springs pool. After some lunch we took a hike in the Barton Springs creek bed and up a rock cliff to a small cave. S. has a casual and easy way about him and because of that he helped E. overcome a lack of confidence AND fear of heights -- the nevvie climbed higher than me or my sister dared. We found some pools of small fish stranded by the low water levels so E. started a rescue mission -- the kid is a complete nature lover and spent the better part of two hours catching fish with his bare hands then running them down the creek bed to a little pond to save them. The rest of us lolled around in the sun, skipped some stones and generally enjoyed NOT being in a vehicle.

~~~

The family stayed until Thursday. We alternated between doing fun things and unpacking the truck. I took them to the airport early Thursday morning...saying goodbye to my sister was the hardest part of the whole move....we are very close and being so far away from her is going to suck.

~~~

I don't think I mentioned that my brother drove the truck the whole way down here (with a chatty 8-year-old next to him, no less) and without complaint. I am so grateful to him for this.

~~~

I've made a pretty good dent in unpacking since Thursday but there is still a long way to go. S. and I both have a lot of crap and we've already decided there's a major yard sale in the offing. And while we're on the topic of crap... I was driving around yesterday and happened upon a white 1950's-era pleather bench on a curb....wood legs, folds out into a bed...perfect for our back porch area....S. and I went back last night and it was still there, so we loaded it into his truck and brought it home. I think that may have been the beginning of a bad thing because both of us are inveterate collectors and neither of us has the willpower to say no to a good find.

~~~

Good thing we have two acres of land.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design