Frustration. [ 2004-02-09, 9:25 p.m. ]

I don't have my computer hooked up to the DSL line yet, so I feel unable to fully navigate my page here. None of my usual internet touchstones are available to me. Sounds pathetic, but there is a process I go through to create this crappy page and... it just feels different. Until we finish setting up the office, my choices are to type it on the fly on S's unfamiliar and uncomfortably-situated computer or write it on my computer and transfer it over...so, updates may be infrequent until I get it sorted out.

~~~

Today held promise of great bureaucratic meandering and much loss of cash. I had to insure my car--insurance rates here are sky-high, even for the basic liability requirements. After that it was off to the Travis County assessor for registration. S. was with me and we entertained each other by inventing lives for the other people in the waiting area. You had to sign in on a sheet and then a clerk would call your name -- we decided the next time I have to do that I'd write down "Chaka Khan" just so we could hear the clerk say "Chaka Khan...Chaka Khan..." (Okay, we were bored and hungry at that point but it made me laugh, so there you have it.) The registration and titling fees include a $99 "new resident" tax -- something that sounded suspiciously like those hall passes seniors used to try to sell to freshmen at my high school -- and which the clerk forgot to charge me. (Either that or he was so charmed by S.'s and my playful banter that he comped me that one. HA.)

~~~

A major point of frustration this evening is the continuing territorial feud between two of the cats. One of my cats is very old and...well...old. He and the young stud of the house have been going at it and tonight it got so bad that fur flew. S.'s cats live mostly outside but I feel badly that they're always getting booted out when trouble starts. I also feel badly for my old cat, who is no doubt totally confused and pissed off about his new living situation. It has S. and I both very stressed out. If anyone out there in internet land has any tips, I would be happy to receive them.

~~~

I'm keeping notes on Austin-related oddities and random points of enjoyment and wonder and will get that entry up and running soon. This is a beautiful, beautiful city.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design