Feeling better. [ 2004-03-06, 5:11 p.m. ]

My day started with the arrival of the FedEx man, bearing a large box from my mother. Inside? Seven boxes of my favorite tea and six boxes of Girl Scout Cookies. Go mom!

~~~

After a mid-morning er...snack...I went out and bought myself $40 worth of mental health in the form of plants and flowers for the yard, then spent the entire day outside planting. I have a little meditation spot between two big trees in the back lot and I bought a camellia bush to go between the trees. S. and I are going to clear out the scrub and build a little rock garden around it. In the copse of trees just out the back door I planted gerbera daisies, a fern and salvia. Against the front of the guesthouse I put in bougainvillea and some alyssum. I also planted a while oleander bush to the side of our back walkway. In the front of the house, I planted begonias and more alyssum and a bottlebrush plant. I spent my early years in Southern California and our backyard wall was lined with bottlebrush; I'm thrilled to finally be living in a climate where I can grow some. The camellia is an homage to my mom, who grew beautiful camellias in that same California yard.

~~~

When S. got home, we went into one of the old corrals at the back of our lot and scattered wildflower seeds. It's what we'll call practical beauty -- we want to have at least ONE field that won't need to be mowed.

~~~~

Tonight, company and homemade pizza. I feel so good today I'm embarassed by my self-pitying mood of late...oh well. All feelings are valid. I'm just glad that today was a little brighter.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design