Of phone calls and Wal-Mart. [ 2004-04-06, 10:34 p.m. ]

My youngest nephew (age 4) called me today to tell me he misses me and that he got one of these charming toys. After we chatted for a while, he asked to speak with S., whom he then dissed about us living so far away (very subtly for a 4-year-old, I might add). I also spoke with my niece, whose conversation is so charmingly random it made me want to cry. And then I hung up and did cry. I don't dwell on it, but I miss my family horribly.

~~~

This evening I got a call from Spec and Lady K. informing me of the sad passing of their cat, Betty. Truly the cutest cat I have ever known. Psycho, but cute. RIP, Betty B.

~~~

In-between the calls was a lot of mundane activity, including a trip to Wal-Mart. I had my first Wal-Mart trip this summer in Tennessee and swore it would be my last and this trip did nothing to change that feeling. ( Except that it was a second trip and now I'm afraid there might be a third.) Among the items I spotted as S. and I hurried through the store was the (I shit you not) Corn Dog and Twinkie kit, which uses the same batter for each and comes with premade "Twinkie filler". Yummy. I also saw what has to be the most assinine kids' toy ever (yes, worse than the stink blasters), "Bobby Q, The Magic Talkin' Grill". Press the demo button on that link and tell me you want your preschooler walking around shouting "It ain't done 'til the ketchup's on the bun!". Ack.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

1 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design