And a happy good morning to you... [ 2004-04-09, 8:39 a.m. ]

S. and I were slowing coming out of sleep this morning...chatting...listening to the birds...drifting back off to sleep...when there were two very loud bursts of...something down the street. Shake-the-house loud. Something-blew-up loud.

~~~

I looked out the window to see a house down the street surrounded by SWAT vehicles, including an armored truck in the back field, and smoke coming out the front door where the SWAT guys had apparently just heaved in two percussive grenades.

~~~

The house is actually a somewhat run-down rental duplex where creepy guy lives. He has been pissing off the neighbors by parking his car in front of various people's houses and I think we just figured out why... S. and I noticed the other day that he had shaved his head and the Nancy Drew in me is wondering if that's because he knew these guys were looking for him. We didn't see the cops pull anyone out of the house but they brought out tons of stuff, including guns and equipment, so I assume that means there was some kind of meth lab in the house. Delightful. And so much for my sense of "I'm in the middle of nowhere" security, which to date has included leaving the house unlocked when I'm working in the back fields. Not no mo'.

~~~

And before any of you smartasses asks, no this did NOT make me homesick for Chicago.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design