Chapter 564: In which I drink too much and have my first trip to a Sonic drive-in. [ 2004-04-16, 10:53 a.m. ]

Yesterday evening S. and I went on a driving excursion (something we do quite frequently) in search of junk and fun. We scored a few good items (including a chair we...well, stole from outside a lakeside restaurant). We found a really cool 1940's era bedframe but decided it was too rusted to be salvaged. Dang.

~~~

Among our stops was the Penn Field complex - a series of office buildings built on the site of an old airstrip. The main building is still in use and most of the smaller buildings have been incorporated into the new complex. Very cool.

~~~

Our next stop was the G&S Lounge, home of Jimmy the Beer Nazi. Jimmy is somewhat legendary for his moodiness - he charges regulars $2.00 for any beer he carries, including several good imports - non-regulars pay $2.75 (a good deal either way, if you ask me). He supposedly kicks a lot of people out for such infractions as moving two tables together but from what I saw of Jimmy last night, he has a long way to go before he can meet the nastiness of some of my fave Chicago bartenders...(Hi, Ian!). The best part of the G&S is that it is crowded with numerous pool tables, air hockey tables, pinball and all kinds of video games. It's big and brightly lit and my first impression was that we had walked into some kind of day-room for adults with attention deficit disorder where the patients were being medicated with beer. People were madly flitting from one game to the next (S. and I ended up doing the same thing before settling in at the pool table). It was fun but I drank waaaay too much.

~~~

On the way home we decided we were hungry so we stopped at a Sonic Drive-In, a place I have avoided for many years. The whole order from your car/eat in your car thing seems so lazy and so uniquely...er...American. (Their website has a "Sonic locator and Road Trip Planner", something I find disturbing - "Hey honey, we can't stop to see Aunt Clarice 'cause there ain't no Sonic near her!") I had cheese fries that were pretty good but I found the whole experience disconcerting somehow...probably because I was drunk and needed to pee.

~~~

I think I have the job - I talked with the prospective employer again today and she said she'll call me this weekend. I feel oddly ambivalent about all of this.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design