Drinkin' wine spo-dee-o-dee [ 2004-04-21, 9:04 a.m. ]

Among other nice job perks, S. is often invited to wine tastings. Last night we were guests of a California vintner at a five-course wine dinner. Because the menu was meat-heavy, "wine dinner" is a very apt description of my experience...I may, in fact, still be drunk.

One of the courses was stuffed quail and I'm sorry but I can't look at a pitiful little carcass on my plate without thinking of either the dead parakeet in "Whatever Happened to Baby Jane?" or that Three Stooges episode where the turkey gets up and walks down the dinner table. But that's just me...The wines were, for the most part, excellent. I had my first taste of Viognier, which for those of you who might not know is sort of like a more full-bodied Chardonnay. Very tasty. They also served a really nice Cabernet.

I think I am going to need a lot of coffee today.

~~~

Forgot to write about the great rock show we attended last Friday - we saw Flametrick Subs at Ego's and they kicked ass. They have a one-handed stand-up bass player (meaning he has one hand and plays a stand-up bass) and a chick drummer who stood through the whole show. Very cool. Kinda Cramps-ish without the camp.

~~~

S. and I have just been having a lot of fun in general lately...life, she is good.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design