Music for kids [ 2004-05-08, 10:45 a.m. ]

~~~

Harriet M. Welsch has lately been writing about her son's favorite music. While the Welsches seem to be well into broadening their child's horizons, I am always horrified when I go into someone's house and see that the only music they have for their kids is Disney crap or worse, cd's that are tied in with marketing television programs.

~~~

For anyone interested, here are a few kid's cds I like (most of which won't drive parents too crazy):

Smithsonian Folkways Children's Music Collection" is my all-time favorite. How many other kids' cds include Langston Hughes reading his poetry?

For Our Children has some good stuff, including a beautiful lullaby sung by Meryl Streep and a frighteningly peppy-sounding Bob Dylan singing "This Old Man".

My friend Ralph Covert's kids cds are fun and contain enough in-jokes to keep adults fairly entertained.

Raffi is okay, though I would stick with the two "Singable Songs for the Very Young" cds and skip the later stuff.

~~~

I am also a big proponent of exposing kids to all kinds of music from a very early age. (Within reason, of course. My sister's oldest went to preschool one day singing Wanda Jackson's "Fujiyama Mama" which prompted a phone call from the teacher...)

~~~

Over and out.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design