I'm not in Kansas anymore. [ 2004-05-18, 12:44 p.m. ]

~~~

Today through Thursday, I am "transitioning" into my new nanny position, which means I am working alongside the outgoing nanny. My employers have indicated, tactfully, that they have been less than thrilled with their current nanny and having spent just two hours with her, I can see why...

~~~

As soon as the mom left for work, the nanny turned on a video for the child (he's 17 mos. old). She proceeded to turn her attention to me, as she apparently thinks I give a shit about hearing her life story. During the video I was trying to interact with the child a bit because he was verbalizing about what he was seeing on the video. The nanny blithely continued her chatter and kept saying "Watch the video, pumpkin!" every time he tried to get her attention. After a second video, (during which the child tried unsuccessfully to get the nanny to read to him), I patted my lap and he came over and I read to him while the nanny continued to regale me with tales of her sorry life.

~~~

Among other things, she told me she takes Vicodin every day for headaches, and that the child is "really good" about laying down on the couch with her for hours. Her last day is Thursday, but for the next two days I'll be there in the morning and after the child's nap so that he can get used to me and so that I can observe him and his routine a bit. During nap time, I can come home or run errands (a nice - if temporary - perk). Right now I am weighing whether it is worth ratting her out about the Vicodin. The child (in theory) won't be in danger for the hours I'm there but if something happpens while I'm out...eek. If any of you has an opinion on this, please let me know.

~~~

S. is sick and napping in the next room, so I am left to my own devices until the nanny calls to tell me the child is waking up. (I live about 15 minutes from work.) I think I will make bad use of my free time by playing a few games of Bookworm.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design