Weekend-end. [ 2004-06-13, 5:51 p.m. ]

~~~

Spent most of the weekend in parts south of Austin, visiting/meeting various factions of S.'s family.

~~~

A highlight: overhearing S.'s uncle telling him he likes me because I have a "strong handshake - like a fisherman". I assume this was a compliment.

~~~

Attended a feast put on by the Catholic church in the small town where S.'s grandmother lives. It was held in a community hall next to the church; good food and good people-watching. The main dishes were sausage and brisket and at least three people asked me, incredulously, "Aren't you having any meat?". No. But I had a lot of really good beans and coleslaw and roasted potatoes...*buuuuurp*.

~~~

Other activities included a bingo game (at which the prizes were things like packages of paper towels, pillows, and jugs of laundry soap), a dance, and a cake walk. S. and I opted to drink beer with some old men instead of participating in any of those activities.

~~~

How unlike us.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design