Weekend in review. [ 2004-06-21, 1:32 p.m. ]

~~~

Ate at a really good Persian restaurant. The evening's entertainment was a belly dancer. She was pretty good but her cheerleader-squad looks were a little, eh, unauthentic and distracting. About halfway through our meal, a large group came in including a little girl of about three who squealed delightedly when she saw the dancer. The dancer beckoned her over and the little girl danced with complete, wonderful abandon for about fifteen minutes.

~~~

Looked at wedding rings. Saw a lot of things we didn't like. Discovered that jewelry salespeople are one step above car salesmen in their annoying persistence. One guy wanted S. and I to sit down and get a "lesson" on diamonds. When I told him I don't like or want diamonds, he quickly handed us a brochure and moved along to the next customer. Bleh.

~~~

Received a call from my sis informing me that our mom is having a meltdown over various aspects of the wedding. Starting with the fact that we aren't getting married in Chicago and snowballing from there. She apparently wants to be in on the dress shopping but instead of calling me and saying "Hey, I'd like to come down and help you look at dresses" she makes comments to my sister like, "Why couldn't she at least get her dress in Chicago? For starters, trying to buy/get fitted for a dress from 1500 miles away would be a major pain in the ass...(There is still a possibility that my sis will make my dress and that will require a trip or two for fittings but they are trips I already have planned for holidays and a party.) I keep asking S. if he wants to go to City Hall and just get this over with because I know this is just the tip of the irate-relative iceberg.

~~~

Grrr.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design