Vacation [ 2004-06-25, 6:48 a.m. ]

~~~

I am off until the 5th of July. Hoo. Ray. Why is it that getting up at 6am on a vacation day is energizing while getting up at 6am on a workday chaps my ass beyond belief? I guess because the vacation day always holds the promise of a nap.

~~~

My niece arrived Wednesday. She wants to get a tattoo while she's here and spent yesterday doodling up some possible designs - mostly revolving around her astrological sign and/or Asian good-luck fish emblems.

Her temperament is so much like mine it scares me. (For example, what she told me about a recent date: "He was trying too hard to be nice - it gave me the creeps.") She also has a self-awareness that is to be envied. I certainly didn't have it at her age and I am constantly amazed by it.

~~~

Wedding weirdness update: Yesterday, I received a letter from a friend of my mom's telling me how "disappointed" my mom is that I'm not getting married in Chicago...and how this friend's nephew got married in California recently and no one came because it was so far away...and so on...and so on...

As I read it, I could feel myself starting to get really pissed off and then I decided it wasn't worth it. This woman is just looking out for my mom and it's good to know my mom has friends who care so much about her. So I plan to send back a short note thanking her for her letter and telling her how happy S. and I are and leave it at that. What the hell is it about weddings that makes everyone think they have to put in their two cents worth? I have watched other friends go through similar crap and always thought I would somehow magically escape it. Guess not. I can't wait til S.'s devoutly Catholic grandmother finds out we're being married in our backyard by someone who was ordained over the internet. Let the good times roll...

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design