Business in the front, party in the back [ 2004-07-18, 8:55 p.m. ]

~~~

Last night, we attended a party thrown by one of S.'s business associates. The party featured a Tiki theme (original!) and lots of overgrown frat boys and their female companions. We would have had a polite drink and left but for the promise of firedancers in the backyard. Thankfully, the firedancers came out pretty soon after we arrived and they did a great show. I must award a hearty Lass "A-for-Effort" award to both ladies who fielded frathole calls of "Do it, baby" and "Check out her nipples!" without throwing a flaming spear into the crowd.

S. and I drank up a lot of booze in a short time, then booked it out of there to go play pool at Dee & Jim's, where the crowd was sparse, the beer was cheap, and they had a jukebox with Donna Fargo's "Happiest Girl in the Whole USA" on it. I am unabashedly in love with that song. Donna Fargo, where are you?

~~~

While doing some very serious research on the net tonight (no, really, I was!), I came across this cool website. I can't decide which I want more, the Mile High Kit or Travel Scrabble. Ha.

~~~

Having now seen actual photos of myself in wedding dresses, I am even less enamored of the idea of wearing one. I looked like...someone else. And not in a good way. I'm just not a frilly gal and even the plainer ones are still wedding dresses. I think I'll seek out a nice evening dress and be done with it. I had to love my mom's comment on the photos, though: "Honey, with those short sleeves, you'll need a wrap. It could still be cold in March.". (Yes, she used to make me wear a coat over my Halloween costume.)

~~~

S. is being very supportive of his sullen bride-to-be. I think I might have finally expressed my loathing in a way that made sense without freaking him out. I want to share this day with people I love but it ultimately is between him and me and the bigger this wedding gets, the less that seems to be the focus, somehow. Married ladies out there, did any of you have this kind of feeling pre-wedding?

~~~

I gots to know.

~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design