Notes on the trip. [ 2004-12-23, 9:00 a.m. ]


~~~
Got up early this morning and turned on WGN, hoping to catch a little "Hardrock, Koko and Joe". Was instead rewarded with a most frightening holiday tableau - Dennis DeYoung of Styx, Billy Corgan, and three supermodel violinists performing holiday hymns. The horror.
~~~
My sister and I had lunch and cried yesterday. We cry a lot - often over nothing in particular - but yesterday we were overcome with frustration over our mom, who is in ill health and will not go to a doctor nor will she let anyone help her. I really think my mom feels that if she just keeps moving, she can outrun illness or death. It's going to be hard to do though, because she can barely walk right now.
~~~
Seeing the ex-charges tomorrow. I know they're going to look huge to me and that I will cry upon seeing them again. One of them informed me on the phone last night that he's made me "the biggest string of beads ever in the world".
~~~
Chicago looks very dirty to me after a year in the verdant and relatively smog-free hills of Austin.
~~~
I have been reminded over the past few days, thanks to my mom's perpetually-on TV, that Chicago news stations spend an inordinate amount of time discussing the weather and dispensing such sage advice as "bundle up" and "drive safely".
~~~
I have also been reminded of the Chicago accent and have been told by several people that I am developing a drawl.
~~~
What-ever, y'all.
~~~
Hee.
~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design