Merry Kringle. [ 2004-12-25, 12:41 a.m. ]


~~~
It is snowing, hard, where S. is tonight. His cousins have never seen snow and are reveling in it - as is he. I am missing him terribly.
~~~
Helped my sister play Santa this evening - thankfully, only one item needed to be assembled and one of the older, non-believing kids stayed up and helped with that.
~~~
My childhood Christmas mornings were always a tortuous lesson in patience as we couldn't go downstairs until our parents had coffee and/or a cigarette. My sister so resented this that she sets her alarm for early rising on Christmas and wakes her kids up so they can tumble sleepily out to see what Santa has left them.
~~~
Saw the charges this morning; it was a little bittersweet, particularly between me and the older charge. He wandered up to his room during my visit and I had a feeling something was up, so I went in to talk to him. He told me he was upset that I wasn't able to stay longer or sleep over, and that he was afraid he'd forget what I look like, or that I'd forget him...so we spent some time talking about all the things we used to do and I think that made us both feel a little bit better.
~~~
Did I mention how much I am missing S.? We decided earlier this year that, for family reasons, we would spend this holiday apart and while it's been good for both of us, it's also been difficult. We'll both be home soon and will have our own celebration but I am really, really missing him. A lot. Very much, you might say. Tons.
~~~
Yes, tons.
~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design