It's gonna take an ocean of calamine lotion... [ 2005-01-15, 6:33 p.m. ]


~~~
Poor S. has had two nasty run-ins with poison oak/ivy/sumac in the past few months. I was looking up some information for him today and ran across a website that encourages folks to send in pictures of their rashes. Swell.
~~~
We hiked today at Wild Basin Preserve, a very hilly and pretty area about twenty minutes from our house. (Have I mentioned that one of my favorite things about Austin is easy access to such beautiful natural areas?) Along the way, we found this baffling sign: .
~~~
Afterwards, we made the mistake of going into the gift shop. And by mistake I mean that wilderness preserve gift shops are often staffed by very lonely and chatty people.
~~~
I ordered some winter-ish boots I really don't need and I think this weekend may hold the only two days I will actually be able to wear them without looking like an idiot. It amuses me no end to see people walking around Austin in hats and scarves and gloves on 50-degree days. Weaklings! Tenderfoots! Not that I'm in any hurry to ever live in cold weather again, but still.
~~~
People are sending back reply cards for the wedding - we'll see how many we get by our deadline. I've been told by several people to expect an intial clump of replies (from the nice, prompt people) and then a trickle of replies well past the RSVP date. I say reply on time or you forfeit your chance to attend our fabulous backyward wedding, you cretins.
~~~
Gotta go make some cornbread.
~~~

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design