Weekend. [ 2005-10-15, 8:34 a.m. ]

Dear Work-Week: Although you were only three days long, you kicked my ass.
***
The story ideas are suddenly flowing out of me. Besides the really big one I hinted at a few days ago, I have several others that are coming along really well. I need to start making money off my writing again - not for any financial reason but to keep myself feeling sharp and competitive.
***
Last night I watched part of THIS SHOW. It was every bit as overblown and maudlin as I was hoping for. The show travels around and does these public auditions - people come into the "Wishing Tent" and tell their sob stories, then the producers decide who is worthy and hook them up. Sick! I love it!! I have to say that only one of the stories last night was really worthy of help - a young woman who'd been physically wiped out in a car wreck wanted to go through her high school graduation. The other two involved a farmer whose house had burned down (tough break, but I'm not sure I'd go on tv looking for help) and a girl who...wait for it...wanted her student loans erased because gee whiz, her parents died when she was young and she's not going anywhere in her chosen, lucrative field of modern dance. I hate to sound like a completely cold-hearted bitch but...put on your big girl pants and get over it, honey. Of course, now that I know the wishes can be so completely stupid, you bet your ass I'll be filling out the online application in the hope of getting my tax debt paid off. Or maybe I'll just ask them for that pony my parents refused to buy for me.
***
I've been invited to a girls' night at my employers' house and I'm going to go, although I have some reservations about it. Despite the problems this summer, I do really like the kids' mother and we have developed a nice friendship. Her friends, though, are mostly go-getter career gals who wear too much makeup and shop every day and I'm not sure how much I'll have to say to any of them.
***
A good weekend wish to all of you.
***

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design