So anyway... [ 2005-11-10, 7:10 a.m. ]

The visit with my mom was too brief and has left me in a bad funk. She seems more frail every time I see her. A few times during the visit she became confused about very simple things - and once would have left her purse sitting on a store counter if I hadn't reminded her to take it. More worrying to me, she is suddenly, urgently doing things like getting a headstone for my sister's grave (which has sat unmarked for over 40 years) and there are things she is hinting at that add up to one of two scenarios: she is dying of a tangible disease or she has decided to die. Either way, the outcome will be the same because she is nothing if not strong-willed. I'm going to talk to my siblings and see what they think before confronting her. Oh, what holiday joy there will be this year.

Yesterday was my birthday. It passed uneventfully as we celebrated with my mom last weekend. S. gifted me with a video camera, which I'm sure he'll come to regret (if he hasn't already). I'm trying not to be too obnoxious with it and all I've really done so far was film my mom with my kitty friend Stevie (who came running to my mom every morning she was here). Cat films! I guess even marriage couldn't save me from my destiny as a crazy old cat lady.


thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design