Ugh. Lame entry hastily typed from notes. [ 2006-02-13, 7:52 p.m. ]

****
Weekend trip to Chicago for Ella's funeral service, which was attended by 13 people (10 of whom were members of my immediate family). The older kids held up pretty well but the little ones were left confused and scared by the goings-on. My nephew E. wrote an amazing homage to Ella but balked at reading it at the last minute, so the minister read it for him. I held it together pretty well until that point.

Ella wore a wedding band for as long as anyone could remember but would never talk about where it came from. That mystery was answered by the one friend of hers we could locate (a woman who had been Ella's postal carrier for some time and whom she had befriended). Ella told this woman that she had been married briefly in the late 1940's - she'd met a serviceman at a bar and they married after knowing each other for less than a week.

My sister and I went to Ella's apartment that night to pack some things up. At the bottom of a desk drawer we found a photograph of a uniformed man and a bracelet given to her by a naval officer - possibly the mystery husband? A few minutes later, we were startled when a radio went on in the other room. My sister freaked out; I told her to consider it a "thank you" from Ella for all she'd done for her in the past few years. Strange.

We also found a shoebox with articles about a high-ranking FBI agent - Ella's oldest brother (long dead). Ella had apparently given some vague information about him to my bro-in-law, but no one knew any real details. The woman kept some secrets...

****
Personal aside to MISS KNEES: I too got my hair chopped this weekend (six inches - I am now sporting a swingy bob) and am enjoying the Olympic young'uns. I made a comment last night about Apolo Ohno that didn't sit too well with Mr. Lass. Oops.

****

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design