Big fun happy Thursday!!!!! [ 2006-02-24, 8:42 a.m. ]

****
The charges' grandparents are visiting this week. Not always a problem but this particular set are not exactly in tune with kids, let alone their own grandchildren. After arriving late Wednesday night, they got up yesterday and made plans to go shopping. The short version is that they completely excluded the older charge, who was aching to spend time with them, from their day. He was very sad about it and when they finally came back to the house he wanted nothing to do with them. Makes for a fun work day. Also, this grandmother likes to try to engage me in discussions about how these kids are being parented (something I absolutely will not do), so that adds an extra element of tension. Yesterday she was making a grocery list and kept asking me, "Don't you think it would be all right for me to get (older charge) some candy?". She knows his parents don't give him candy so what she was really looking for was either a comment from me and/or some kind of tacit approval for her behavior. She got neither.
They're here til next Wednesday. Gah.
****
Last night I had my second exposure to an acquaintance of S.'s - a thirty-some-odd year old woman who has the emotional maturity of a 15-year-old. Oh, the funny things insecurity will do to people. Not quite as amusing when they happen in my own home but the transparency of motive is laughable. Yes, I'm ten years older than you (thanks again for reminding me!) and yes I'm married to someone you have the hots for. Deal with it. Although I must acknowledge the classy move you made, writhing around on the living room floor because your "back hurt". Ten ho points and a snap for that one, sistah!
****

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design