All you do to me is talk, talk... [ 2006-06-09, 8:31 a.m. ]

THIS ENTRY in Harriet's diary really hit home for me.
Older charge, like AJ, is exceptionally bright and very verbal. I spend almost ten hours a day interacting with this kid and a good part of that time is spent talking with him. Most days, this fact doesn't even register with me. He is an engaging kid and I really do enjoy the time I spend with him. However, there are occasional days when I find myself wishing he would JUST.SHUT.UP. That may sound horrible to some of you, especially since I'm being paid to care for this child, but there it is. (And my hat is off to the unpaid moms and dads who have this experience 24 hours a day...)
****
I was a precocious kid and I always knew when an adult was half-listening or patronizing me or simply didn't get what I was trying to tell them. I realize now how exhausting this must have been for my parents and teachers.
****

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design