In dreams, I walk with you... [ 2006-06-11, 11:26 a.m. ]

Dreams that seemed to last all night.

I was in a beautiful old mansion and each time I stepped into a new room, the ghost of someone who once lived there began whispering in my ear. "Can you see me?" "I have something to tell you." Thinking it must be my ancestors but knowing none of them ever lived in such grand style. I listened anyway.

Dreams of old, old typewriters, then computers at which I sat and watched as my fingers flew over the keyboards, typing out...what?

Dreams that are pointing out the way for me.

****

Ten years and seven days ago, a friend of mine took his own life. I have, from time to time, dreamt about him. He is usually happy and laughing in these dreams. Sometimes I wake up comforted, sometimes I wake up angry at him - how dare he move on and be happy while the rest of us here wonder what it was we didn't see?

Last year was the first year since he died that the anniversary passed me by unnoticed. I realized it the next day and felt sad, then somehow relieved. This year the day will not pass unnoticed, memories brought back by a friend's recent sadness.

****

I REMEMBER YOU, J.

I hear you.

I am listening.

****

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design