Distractions. [ 2006-07-21, 6:21 a.m. ]


After the high emotion of the week, I have settled into a kind of controlled panic, mostly having to do with trying to get on a plane at 6:30 tomorrow morning and not being ready at all.
****
Yesterday, S. informed me that I was sleepwalking Wednesday night. I didn't go out of the bedroom but it scared the shit out of me to hear that. I've been a sleepwalker occasionally in my life - usually during times of serious stress (like now)...yippee.
****
I think I might go see my dad next week after all - I can talk him into it, I'm sure. His "girlfriend" (she calls herself that, my dad doesn't) is offering to do all kinds of things - none of us are completely comfortable about this because we don't know her. The background check my friend ran on her didn't show a criminal history but she has moved about six times in the past four years and has bench warrants out on her in two states for traffic violations.

Also, my dad told me that she offered to do a house valuation for him online, which raised a huge red flag for me. Why does she care how much his house is worth unless she thinks there's some way to get it? I know this probably sounds paranoid as hell but I trust my gut and it's telling me something may be amiss there. It makes me very nervous because my dad is going to become increasingly vulnerable over the next few months and there is no one else out there looking out for him.

All of his money, holdings and the house are in a trust for his kids and grandkids but who knows what he could be talked into in this situation? If he, in his right mind (whatever that is), wanted to give all of his money away none of us would care, but I don't want to see him coerced into something when he's vulnerable. The urgency I feel about getting out there is equal parts wanting to let her know that there are eyes upon her and wanting to help my dad. If that makes me sound like a shitty person, oh well.
****
Yesterday evening we had a brief rainstorm and S. called me out to the front yard. As I stepped out, I saw that there was a small rainbow right in the yard, ending right at my feet. No leprechauns though, thank God. And excuse my lack of gratitude but if this week is the pot of gold at end of the rainbow, you can have it back.
****
In other news, I woke up with a bad ache in the center of my chest. It feels similar to a pneumonia kind of heaviness and hurts if I try to breathe too deeply. The charges and I had a rowdy afternoon yesterday so I don't know if I pulled something or it's psychosomatic or what. But it hurts like hell.
****

thisaway - thataway

2 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design