Back. [ 2006-07-31, 8:04 p.m. ]

****
The trip to Chicago was stressful and comforting at the same time. I'm not sure I have the energy (or the mean streak) to subject you, internet public, to the details.
****
After Chicago, S. whisked me off for a short trip to the west Texas mountains during which I was able to relax some. While we were there my sister called to read me the contents of a letter my dad's "girlfriend" sent her - very, very bizarre and it really upset my sis...I have the girlfriend's phone number and it was all I could do not to call her and dump a bunch of misplaced rage on her. We are all suspicious of her motives here and my older bro. is going to AZ in a week or so to put some further legal safeguards in place to protect my dad and his money.
****
My dad is not tolerating the radiation very well and he's in a lot of pain. I spoke with him on the phone today and he sounded the most down and pessimistic I've heard him. His throat hurts him so badly that he can't eat any solid foods but he's managing to keep down enough liquid nutrient shakes to maintain his weight. He says he's tired and trying to keep his pain at a manageable level with codeine pills. He doesn't want to get anything heavier because he wants to be able to function somewhat during the day. (I'll pause here for your comments on the irony of someone who has been drunk every day for the past 30 years saying that...)
****
So, we're home and the weight of it all is pressing down once again but I am trying my best not to collapse under it.
****

thisaway - thataway

3 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design