And furthermore... [ 2006-08-04, 10:29 p.m. ]

I am quite drunk this evening, thanks to a trip to the always-entertaining Horsehoe Lounge. I should not be enjoying myself when there is so much abject misery afoot but it felt good to let go for a few hours. This is where S. is a complete blessing in my life - alone, I would never allow myself the luxury of a night out under such dire circumstances. But it seems ok.
****
In other (possibly psychotic) news, I have had a very bad sore throat and acid reflux for the past three weeks. My dad keeps telling me how hard it is for him to swallow so I guess I'm trying in some psychosomatic way to carry part of his burden. Or I am losing my mind in my grief over what's happening to him.
****
On my way home from work tonight, I saw half a rainbow. S. and I left for dinner later and saw the other side of it. Last night, I watched two white birds flit over the house and fly off toward the sunset. My dad thinks he has no faith or spirituality but he is completely awed and inspired by natural phenomena. I like to think that seeing all of these things somehow bodes well for him as he passes along. He has suffered such a heavy burden in his lifetime.
****
At the very least, I hope his mom is out there somewhere, waiting to embrace and comfort him.
****
And, ever the self-conscious hostess, I feel compelled to tell you that if you want a less maudlin entry, click back one for my drunken tribute to Arthur Lee.
****

thisaway - thataway

0 comments so far
navigate
current
profile
recently crappy
last year's crap
older crap
still crappy
the crappiest
read a random entry
guestbook
email
c.2001-2006 LAS
host
design